How to Get to Raid Boss Argus the Unmaker in World of Warcraft

Argus the Unmaker is the final boss of the Antorus, the Burning Throne raid in World of Warcraft. Before you can face this epic encounter, there are several steps you need to complete first:


Reach Level 110

The Antorus raid is designed for max-level characters, so you need to get to level 110 before zoning in. If you’re not 110 yet, quest and run dungeons to reach the cap.

Unlock Argus and Complete the Main Storyline

Argus is a new planet introduced in Patch 7.3. To get there, you must first complete the Broken Shore storyline and defeat Kil’jaeden. After that, a quest will lead you to Argus.

Once on Argus, focus on completing the main storyline quests. This will eventually reward you with the Lightforged Beacon, an important item needed to enter Antorus.

Gear Up and Farm Artifact Power

The enemies in Antorus hit hard, so having decent gear and artifact weapon traits will make things smoother. Aim to have an item level of at least 930 before attempting Heroic or higher difficulties.

Assemble a Raid Group

Antorus is tuned for groups of 10-30 players. Either join a guild group, use the Group Finder tool, or assemble a PuG (pick-up group) to take on the raid.

Getting to the Raid Entrance

Once you meet the prerequisites, follow these steps to reach the Antorus entrance:

  1. Take the portal to Legion Dalaran in the Chamber of the Guardian.
  2. Exit the building and go up the stairs to the north.
  3. Locate the Lightforged Beacon portal to the northeast. Interact with it to teleport aboard the Vindicaar.
  4. On the Vindicaar, speak with Captain Fareeya to select Hope’s Landing as your destination on Argus.
  5. After arriving, exit the Vindicaar and travel northwest to coordinates 11.5, 87.1. This is the Antorus raid entrance.

Progressing Through the Raid

Antorus contains 11 bosses, with Argus the Unmaker being the last. To reach him, you must defeat the first 10 bosses in the following order:

  1. Garothi Worldbreaker
  2. Felhounds of Sargeras
  3. Antoran High Command
  4. Portal Keeper Hasabel
  5. Eonar the Life-Binder
  6. Imonar the Soulhunter
  7. Kin’garoth
  8. Varimathras
  9. The Coven of Shivarra
  10. Aggramar
  11. Argus the Unmaker

Bosses 3 through 10 must be defeated in the same lockout before you can attempt Argus.

Defeating Argus the Unmaker

Argus himself is a challenging four phase encounter requiring high damage output and raid coordination. Here is an overview of each phase:

Phase 1: Survive Argus’ scythe attacks while handling add spawns and dangerous floor zones.

Phase 2: Defeat Aggramar’s corrupted Avatar form. Soak Soulburst detonations away from others.

Phase 3: Kill Cosmic Beacons and prevent their energy from reaching 100. Dodge avoidable damage.

Phase 4: Finish Argus before he wipes the raid. Dodge Scythes and Orbs while attacking.


Defeating Argus on Normal or higher difficulty has a chance to drop item level 945 gear and tokens for 1000 Titanforged gear. Mythic difficulty drops item level 960 gear, with a chance for 975 Titanforged pieces.

There are also several mount drops possible from Mythic Argus:

  • Shackled Ur’zul
  • Kirin Tor Summoning Crystal
  • Living Infernal Core

The Unmaker title is also awarded for killing Mythic Argus before the next raid tier.


Reaching and defeating Argus is a long but rewarding journey. Make sure you put in the time and effort to gear up, assemble a capable raid group, and master the earlier bosses before attempting this ultimate challenge. The epic loot and mounts are well worth overcoming the destroyer of worlds!