How to Close and Delete Your Venmo Mobile Payment Account

Before closing your Venmo account, you should transfer any remaining balance to your linked bank account or request the funds be sent back to the sender. If you close your account with funds still in Venmo, you will have to contact customer support to get access to those funds.

Open the Venmo App

In the app, go to the “Me” tab and tap the gear icon to access your account Settings.

Select “Close Venmo Account”

Under Account preferences, choose the option to close your Venmo account and confirm your selection.

Finalize Account Closure

Venmo will ask you to review your most recent statement and then select “Close Account” again to finalize the account closure process.

Check Email

After closing your account, Venmo will send a final email with your transaction history. You will no longer be able to access your Venmo account.

Key things to note:

  • You cannot close your account if you have any pending Venmo transactions or open cases. These must be resolved first.
  • Venmo keeps your account information for 180 days after closure in case you need to reopen your account.
  • Once closed, you cannot reopen the same Venmo account. You would need to create an entirely new account.

Let me know if you need any clarification or have additional questions!